Sprout Yoga

Month of Self Love

In Eating Disorders and Yoga on February 15, 2012 at 3:24 am

Valentine’s Day came and went. How did you celebrate the day of love?

I used to really dislike Valentine’s Day. Shouldn’t you celebrate love everyday? I would be tremendously hurt if my loved one didn’t make a big deal out of it. But i myself hated the idea of making a big deal out if it. It was a lose lose situation to say the least. And the Valentine’s Day I was alone would be worse of all. I would sulk and mope about being alone, cringing at every lovey dove commercial.

This year I decided it was going to be different. I was not going to allow someone else to make or ruin my day. One of the many lessons I learned on my yoga mat is that we are the sole pilots on the plane of emotions. We have a choice of how others are going to affect us. But even more than that, through yoga I realized I am worthy of my own self love. In fact, there is no better love. Every time I stepped on my mat and listened to my body, self trust grew. I began to care how my body felt rather than reject it. Even if I was feeling fat or ugly that day, I tuned in and paid attention to what it wanted. Slowly that self trust grew off the mat.

On this Valentine’s Day, I committed to doing at least three things for me. Three things that would make me feel special and alive. It didn’t have to be big, it didn’t have to be expensive. It just had to be thoughtful.

One of the things I did was take my lunch break to go on a nice walk around my downtown. It felt good to get out of the office and enjoy the mild winter day. The second thing I did was buy myself a rose and carried it with me. It was nice to be able to rest my gaze on something beautiful at work. And lastly, I drew myself a bubble bath. I gave some time to myself to read, sit, and be.

By the end of the day I felt pampered and loved by the one person I am “stuck” with 24/7. It didn’t matter if the person in my life treated me the way they are supposed to according to the media. It didn’t matter if I was alone on the day of love. All that mattered was that I spent a little bit of time in my day to connect with my heart and spread a little happiness in my life.

So I decided I want to continue spreading Valentine’s Day cheer and do something nice to myself once a day. They say that you cannot love others until you love yourself. It hasn’t been easy to fall in love with myself, but I am not giving up. It’s a battle definitely worth fighting for and I know that if I put myself first even just once or twice a day, that can make all the difference.

I invite you to make this commitment with me. Let’s use this month to celebrate self love. Really dedicate a few moments each day to honor your uniqueness. We deserve it.

Leave a Reply

